Sugar Land Recognizes Volunteers of the Year
Sugar Land
More Today's News:
ߦ   Colombian Narcotics Kingpin Pleads Guilty for Bribing Former Federal Agent to Dismiss Indictment
ߦ   Defendant Sentenced to Life for Aggravated Sexual Assault of a Child
ߦ   El Paso Man Sentenced For Distributing Child Porn
ߦ   Fifty Club's Forty-Eighth Award Luncheon
ߦ   South Texas ICE deportation officers remove previously deported Salvadoran gang member wanted for aggravated homicide and other criminal charges
ߦ   Two North Texas Doctors, One Nurse Sentenced to Prison for Federal Drug Trafficking Violations
ߦ   $3,000 Reward Offered for Most Wanted Sex Offender from Brownsville Area
ߦ   Bond set at $250K for man suspected of robbing local bank at gunpoint
ߦ   County Jails Struggle With A New Role As America's Prime Centers For Opioid Detox
ߦ   Dispute between sheriff, commissioner has new Katy-area substation on hold
ߦ   Four Arrested In Best Buy Burglary
ߦ   Investigators Charge Third Man In 2018 Murder.
ߦ   Legal Resident Convicted Of Transporting Illegal Alien
ߦ   Motorcycle Safety Awareness Month
ߦ   Needville Area Drug Bust
ߦ   Port Arthur Man Charged with Violent Crime Acts
ߦ   Prison Guard Charged With Assaulting Inmate
ߦ   TxDOT Reenacts Crash To Urge Texans To Buckle Up
ߦ   Family members find body of missing kayaker in Texas City
ߦ   Gas Station Robber Busted, Jailed
ߦ   Man shoots 2 Kan. LEOs, kills father and himself in standoff
ߦ   Mass. prosecutors sue feds to stop courthouse immigration arrests
ߦ   Minneapolis officer convicted of murder in 911 caller death
ߦ   Motive unclear in NC campus shooting that killed 2, wounded 4 others
ߦ   Suspect Broke NYPD Officer's Leg During Foot Pursuit
ߦ   Third Suspect Jailed In Kidnapping/Assault Case
ߦ   Harris County Leaders to Dedicate New 911 Emergency Call Center
ߦ   Husband, Wife Sentenced To 60 Years For Child Sex Exploitation
ߦ   Man Conducts Sex Act Inside Store
ߦ   Mexican National Convicted of Southeast Texas Kidnapping

Search Archives:

Sugar Land, TX ¬- The city of Sugar Land recently named the 10 Volunteers of the Year.


"These individuals are part of a city program called Serve Sugar Land that contributed 27,853 hours of volunteer service to the city last year, equating to more than $687,690 in in-kind service donations," said Community Engagement Coordinator Kayla Lauhoff.


     Those recognized for volunteering in city departments during the past year included:

.    Becky Adams, accounting;

.    Damon Brownd, Community Assistance Support Team;

.    Ron Fawcett, Citizens Fire Academy Alumni Association;

.    Brenda Frye, municipal court;

.    Connie Guyton, T.E. Harman Center;

.    Tony Manna, Citizens' Police Academy Alumni Association;

.    Gabriel Rodriguez, permits and inspections;

.    Carmen Suarez, purchasing;

.    Trudy Thompson, human resources; and

.    Michael Voegtline, animal shelter.


Sugar Land's Serve Sugar Land program has coordinated volunteer efforts in the city since 2007 as a way for the citizens of Sugar Land and surrounding neighborhoods to become involved in their city government.


Each year city departments select and nominate a volunteer who enhances the delivery of city services by sharing their skills and fosters an atmosphere of community.


"The success of our city would not be possible without the contributions of active, engaged citizens like the 10 we're recognizing this year," said Director of Public Affairs Cindy Dees. "We're extremely fortunate that so many people in our community have a passion for service and freely partner with our champion workforce to ensure Sugar Land remains an exceptional place to live. Citizen engagement continues to be a top priority for our city, so we'll continue to look for ways to ensure citizen participation, as well as opportunities to recognize their efforts.  These investments of time and resources are part of what makes our community so special - it's something we routinely refer to as 'The Sugar Land Way.'"


To learn more about how to become a volunteer with the city of Sugar Land, visit or call (281) 275-2329.  


Serve Sugar Land Volunteers of the Year and their staff nominators include (Front Row, L-R) Animal Services Manager Kathryn Ketchum, Michael Voegtline, Human Resources Department Specialist Paula Allen, Trudy Thompson, Recreation Coordinator Sandy Penman, Connie Guyton, Battalion Chief Javier Crespo, Ron Fawcett, Carmen Suarez, Damon Brownd, Becky Adams, Tony Manna (Middle Row) Police Lt. Wayne Coleman, Director of Finance Jennifer Brown, Police Capt. Chris Thompson, Mayor Joe Zimmerman (Back Row) Councilmember Amy Mitchell, Councilmember Himesh Gandhi, Councilmember Bridget Yeung, Assistant City Manager Jennifer May, Councilmember Carol McCutcheon, Councilmember Steve Porter and Councilmember Jennifer Layne. Not pictured is Brenda Frye and Gabriel Rodriguez.

Post a comment
Email Address: (must be a valid address)
(will not be published or shared)
Comments: (plain text only)
Printer Friendly Format  Printer Friendly Format    Send to a Friend  Send to a Friend    RSS Feed  RSS Feed
© 1999-2019 The Police News. All rights reserved.